Chronic Pain Rights & Responsibilities

Laughing, Loving, and Living With Chronic Pain and Illness

I’m “Coming out” of the Fibromyalgia closet

SourceURL:file:///Users/isobelfox/Desktop/%20resumes%20and%20work/Fibro1.doc @font-face { font-family: “Wingdings”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: Times; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

I am thirty-seven years old, and I am “coming out of the closet” about the fact that I have Fibromyalgia. Over the past five years, it has been becoming more and more of a presence in my life. Up until the past week or so, I literally thought that I could “power through” the debilitating illness, if only I did this or that. Especially since the general attitude of people who do not have this disease is that you just need to, “Get out of the house…Get some exercise, or take a nice hot bath.” After spending the past three weeks with a migraine headache that was so painful, and induced so much nausea that I literally prayed to die at moments, I have finally come to terms with the fact that this is not going away. Not only is it not going away, it is a HUGE part of my life. Hardest for me to admit aloud is the recent sinking in of the reality that I am incapable of holding a regular job. I have always been very career-oriented, and driven toward my creative and philanthropic goals. I have no intention of giving up those goals, but I realize now, that I have to reinvent them. I cannot be held responsible to show up at a 9-5 job, especially one in a third-world country (as was previously my ultimate goal). I have decided to take up blogging (not just about living with Fibro, but also about my travels to Africa, and about sex and sexuality—all things that I have had aspirations to write about for years). Through blogging, I hope to reinvent my goals and participate in the world, again. So, this will begin my tell all about living with Fibromyalgia. The other topics will be on WordPress, too, and I will be starting them soon.

If you know me personally, you will be able to gain insight into the struggle I’ve been dealing with. If you know someone else with Fibro, I hope you will be able to understand, accept, and empathize with them through what you read here. If you suffer from the illness yourself, or suspect that you might, I hope that you will find comfort in reading about the familiar issues. So, this is just an introduction. I am slowly coaxing myself out of the shame closet!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “I’m “Coming out” of the Fibromyalgia closet

  1. shayne on said:

    Word! you go girl!

  2. Alisa Ash on said:

    Glad you are finding an outlet for this. My aunt also suffers from fibromyalgia. I don’t know much about it, but it sounds just awful. I look forward to reading your future blogs on the other topics!

  3. Well, I know what you’re going through. I had to “come out of the Fibromyalgia closet” to fellow high schoolers…. It sucked, but needed to be done, so that other kids wouldn’t think I was getting special treatment from the school (well I am, but for good reason)

  4. Yes, Fibro is a hugh part of my life as well. After getting laid off my job in 2009, I have had one issue after another in terns of getting back in step or sync sort-to-speak with working, etc. and bringing in the kind of income that I was use to bringing in. However, cards did not turn over that way in my favor. The struggle to survive has been real, and a whole new awakening and experience. Fibromyalgia became worse due to stress and all. I call it the silence of pain because only we (fibro) people can hear it loud and clear, as it is silent to others around us – who look at us and think that all is fine. In reality, we are screaming inside from the jabs of pain.

  5. I have also been laid off of my job, and cannot imagine dealing with a 9-5 on a daily basis with this pain. I understand your title. It totally makes sense. I wish there were a way to explain it, but there simply isn’t, unless, like you said, the other person has it, too.

Leave a Reply

