Chronic Pain Rights & Responsibilities

Laughing, Loving, and Living With Chronic Pain and Illness

Things not to say to someone with a chronic illneess

I have been diagnosed with this illness (among others!) and would appreciate if those who care about me would read about it:)

Blueberries For Me

I have received a lot of well-intentioned comments on my being diagnosed with interstitial cystitis over the past few years. Because it’s a rare and unknown disease, most people didn’t know what to say, and quite a few of the comments weren’t what I needed to hear in the place I was in at that moment. I don’t begrudge people for trying, but I thought it might help to share a few thoughts on things not to say to someone with a chronic illness.

1. I would die if I had to live like that.

No, you wouldn’t. This one I might hate the most, because to me it sounds a little like “your life isn’t worth living.” You would adjust and adapt, and it might suck, but you wouldn’t die. Chronic illnesses can require a lot of lifestyle adjustments, particularly for ones that aren’t currently curable or treatable by…

View original post 919 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

